Catherynne M. Valente Biography


Type: Poet, novelist, literary critic

Born: 0


Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen works of fiction and poetry, including "Palimpsest", "the Orphan’s Tales series", "Deathless", "Radiance", and the crowdfunded phenomenon "The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Own Making". She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus and Hugo awards. She has been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of which are human.

Selected works:


  • The Labyrinth (2004)
  • The Ice Puzzle (2004)
  • Yume No Hon: The Book of Dreams (2005)
  • The Grass-Cutting Sword (2006)
  • Palimpsest (2009)
  • Deathless (2011)
  • Silently and Very Fast (2011)
  • Six-Gun Snow White (2013)
  • Matryoshka (2015)
  • Radiance (2015)
  • Speak Easy 2015
  • The Orphan's Tales
  • A Dirge for Prester John
  • Fairyland


  • Music of a Proto-Suicide (2004)
  • Apocrypha (2005)
  • Oracles: A Pilgrimage (2006)
  • The Descent of Inanna (2006)
  • A Guide to Folktales in Fragile Dialects (May 2008)

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Catherynne M. Valente Wiki

Catherynne M. Valente At Amazon