E.M. Forster Biography


Type: Writer (novels, short stories, essays)

Born: 1 January 1879

Died: 7 June 1970 (aged 91)

He had five novels published in his lifetime, achieving his greatest success with "A Passage to India" (1924) which takes as its subject the relationship between East and West, seen through the lens of India in the later days of the British Raj.

Forster's views as a secular humanist are at the heart of his work, which often depicts the pursuit of personal connections in spite of the restrictions of contemporary society. He is noted for his use of symbolism as a technique in his novels, and he has been criticised for his attachment to mysticism. His other works include "Where Angels Fear to Tread" (1905), "The Longest Journey" (1907), "A Room with a View" (1908) and "Maurice" (1971), his posthumously published novel which tells of the coming of age of an explicitly gay male character.


  • Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905)
  • The Longest Journey (1907)
  • A Room with a View (1908)
  • Howards End (1910)
  • A Passage to India (1924)
  • Maurice (written in 1913–14, published posthumously in 1971)
  • Share Page

    Quote Of The Day

    Quote Of The Day

    E.M. Forster Wiki

    E.M. Forster At Amazon