Frank Herbert Biography


Type: Novelist

Born: October 8, 1920

Died: February 11, 1986 (aged 65)

The"Dune" saga, set in the distant future and taking place over millennia, deals with complex themes such as human survival and evolution, ecology, and the intersection of religion, politics and power. "Dune" itself is the best-selling science fiction novel of all time and the series is widely considered to be among the classics of the genre.

Selected works:

Dune novels:

  • Dune: Serial publication: Analog, December 1963 – February 1964 (Part I, as "Dune World"), and January – May 1965 (Parts II and III, as "The Prophet of Dune"). First edition: Philadelphia: Chilton Books, 1965.
  • Dune Messiah: Serial publication: Galaxy, July – November 1969. First edition: New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1969.
  • Children of Dune: Serial 1976.
  • God Emperor of Dune, 1981.
  • Heretics of Dune, 1984.
  • Chapterhouse: Dune, 1985.
  • WorShip novels:
  • Destination: Void: Serial publication: Galaxy, August 1965, as "Do I Wake or Dream?" First edition: New York: Berkeley, 1966 revised in 1978.
  • The Jesus Incident (with Bill Ransom), 1979.
  • The Lazarus Effect (with Bill Ransom), 1983.
  • The Ascension Factor (with Bill Ransom), 1988.

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Frank Herbert Wiki

Frank Herbert At Amazon