George R.R. Martin Biography


Type: Novelist, Short story writer, Screenwriter

Born: September 20, 1948,Bayonne, New Jersey U.S.


Martin attended Mary Jane Donohoe School and Marist High School. He began writing very young, selling monster stories to other neighborhood children for pennies, dramatic readings included. Later he became a comic book fan and collector in high school, and began to write fiction for comic fanzines (amateur fan magazines). Martin's first professional sale was made in 1970 at age 21: "The Hero," sold to Galaxy, published in February, 1971 issue. Other sales followed.

In 1970 Martin received a B.S. in Journalism from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, graduating summa cum laude. He went on to complete a M.S. in Journalism in 1971, also from Northwestern.

As a conscientious objector, Martin did alternative service 1972-1974 with VISTA, attached to Cook County Legal Assistance Foundation. He also directed chess tournaments for the Continental Chess Association from 1973-1976, and was a Journalism instructor at Clarke College, Dubuque, Iowa, from 1976-1978. He wrote part-time throughout the 1970s while working as a VISTA Volunteer, chess director, and teacher.

In 1975 he married Gale Burnick. They divorced in 1979, with no children. Martin became a full-time writer in 1979. He was writer-in-residence at Clarke College from 1978-79.

Moving on to Hollywood, Martin signed on as a story editor for Twilight Zone at CBS Television in 1986. In 1987 Martin became an Executive Story Consultant for Beauty and the Beast at CBS. In 1988 he became a Producer for Beauty and the Beast, then in 1989 moved up to Co-Supervising Producer. He was Executive Producer for Doorways, a pilot which he wrote for Columbia Pictures Television, which was filmed during 1992-93.

Martin's present home is Santa Fe, New Mexico. He is a member of Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (he was South-Central Regional Director 1977-1979, and Vice President 1996-1998), and of Writers' Guild of America, West.


  • A Song for Lya 1976
  • Dying of the Light 1977
  • Songs of Stars and Shadows 1977
  • The Ice Dragon 1980
  • Windhaven 1981
  • Sandkings 1981
  • Fevre Dream 1982
  • "In the Lost Lands" 1982
  • Songs the Dead Men Sing 1983
  • The Armageddon Rag 1983
  • Nightflyers 1985
  • Tuf Voyaging 1986
  • Portraits of His Children 1987
  • The Skin Trade 1989
  • A Game of Thrones 1996
  • A Clash of Kings 1998
  • The Hedge Knight 1998
  • A Storm of Swords 2000
  • Quartet 2001
  • GRRM: A RRetrospective 2003
  • The Sworn Sword 2003
  • A Feast for Crows 2005
  • Hunter's Run 2007
  • The Mystery Knight 2010
  • A Dance with Dragons 2011
  • The Wit and Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister 2013
  • The Princess and the Queen 2013
  • The Rogue Prince 2014
  • The World of Ice & Fire 2014
  • The Ice Dragon 2014
  • A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms 2015
  • The Winds of Winter Forthcoming
  • A Dream of Spring Forthcoming

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

George R.R. Martin Wiki

George R.R. Martin At Amazon