Graham Greene Biography


Type: Writer

Born: 2 October 1904

Died: 3 April 1991 (aged 86)

Although Greene objected strongly to being described as a Roman Catholic novelist, rather than as a novelist who happened to be Catholic, Catholic religious themes are at the root of much of his writing, especially the four major Catholic novels: "Brighton Rock", "The Power and the Glory", "The Heart of the Matter", and "The End of the Affair"; which are regarded as "the gold standard" of the Catholic novel. Several works, such as "The Confidential Agent", "The Third Man", "The Quiet American", "Our Man in Havana", and "The Human Factor", also show Greene's avid interest in the workings and intrigues of international politics and espionage.

Select works:

  • The Man Within (début – 1929)
  • Stamboul Train (1932) (also published as Orient Express in the U.S.)
  • It's a Battlefield (1934)
  • England Made Me (also published as The Shipwrecked) (1935)
  • A Gun for Sale (1936)
  • Journey Without Maps (1936)
  • Brighton Rock (1938)
  • The Lawless Roads (1939) (also published as Another Mexico in the U.S.)
  • The Confidential Agent (1939)
  • The Power and the Glory (1940)
  • The Ministry of Fear (1943)
  • The Heart of the Matter (1948)
  • The Third Man (1949), written after the screen play to the film The Third Man
  • The End of the Affair (1951)
  • Twenty-One Stories (1954) (short stories)
  • Loser Takes All (1955)
  • The Quiet American (1955)
  • The Potting Shed (1956)
  • Our Man in Havana (1958)
  • A Burnt-Out Case (1960)
  • The Comedians (1966)
  • Travels with My Aunt (1969)
  • The Honorary Consul (1973)
  • The Human Factor (1978)
  • Doctor Fischer of Geneva (1980)
  • Monsignor Quixote (1982)
  • The Tenth Man (1985)
  • The Last Word (1990) (short stories)

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Graham Greene Wiki

Graham Greene At Amazon