Jeanette Winterson Biography


Type: Writer

Born: 27 August 1959


After she moved to London, her first novel, "Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit", won the 1985 Whitbread Prize for a First Novel, and was adapted for television by Winterson in 1990. This in turn won the BAFTA Award for Best Drama. She won the 1987 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Passion, a novel set in Napoleonic Europe. Winterson's subsequent novels explore the boundaries of physicality and the imagination, gender polarities, and sexual identities, and have won several literary awards. Her stage adaptation of The PowerBook in 2002 opened at the Royal National Theatre, London. She also bought a derelict terraced house in Spitalfields, east London, which she refurbished into a flat as a pied-à-terre and a ground-floor shop, Verde's, to sell organic food. Selected works: Winterson, Jeanette (1985). Oranges are not the only fruit. London: Pandora. Boating for Beginners (1985) - graphic novel Fit For The Future: The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well (1986) The Passion (1987) Sexing the Cherry (1989) Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit: the script (1990) Written on the Body (1992) Art & Lies: A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd (1994) Great Moments in Aviation: the script (1995) Art Objects. Essays in Ecstasy and Effrontery (1995) - essays Gut Symmetries (1997) The World and Other Places (1998) - short stories The Dreaming House (1998) The PowerBook (2000) The King of Capri (2003) - children's literature Lighthousekeeping (2004) Weight (2005) Tanglewreck (2006) - children's literature The Stone Gods (2007) The Battle of the Sun (2009) Ingenious (2009) The Lion, The Unicorn and Me: The Donkey's Christmas Story (2009) Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? (2011) - memoir The Daylight Gate (2012) The Gap of Time: a novel (2015)

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Jeanette Winterson Wiki

Jeanette Winterson At Amazon