Joyce Carol Oates Biography


Type: Writer

Born: June 16, 1938


Joyce Carol Oates is an American writer. Oates published her first book in 1963 and has since published over 40 novels, as well as a number of plays and novellas, and many volumes of short stories, poetry, and nonfiction. She has won many awards for her writing, including the National Book Award, for her novel "Them" (1969), two O. Henry Awards, and the National Humanities Medal. Her novels "Black Water" (1992), "What I Lived For" (1994), "Blonde" (2000), and short story collections "The Wheel of Love" and "Other Stories" (1970) and "Lovely, Dark, Deep: Stories" (2014) were each nominated for the Pulitzer Prize.

Oates has taught at Princeton University since 1978 and is currently the Roger S. Berlind '52 Professor Emerita in the Humanities with the Program in Creative Writing.

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Joyce Carol Oates Wiki

Joyce Carol Oates At Amazon