Lauren Oliver Biography

Lauren Oliver


Type: Author

Born: 8, 1982, Westchester County, New York


She is a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee for her middle-grade novel "Liesl & Po", as well as author of the fantasy middle-grade novel "The Spindlers". Panic, which was published in March 2014, has been optioned by Universal Pictures in a major deal. Academically, Lauren graduated from the University of Chicago, where she was elected to Phi Beta Kappa. She also has a degree from New York University’s MFA program. With Lexa Hillyer, she is co-founder of the boutique literary development company Paper Lantern Lit.

Growing up, Lauren was both an avid reader and writer, saying, “I come from a family of writers, and so have always (mistakenly) believed that spending hours in front of the computer every day, mulling over the difference between ‘chortling’ and ‘chuckling’ is normal. As a child, after finishing a book, I would continue to write a sequel for its characters, because I did not want to have to give them up".

As she continued in her writing, Lauren eventually made the switch to writing her own stories and characters, to some success. Yet, in addition to writing, Lauren also enjoyed taking ballet, drawing, painting, making collages, singing, acting, experimenting with cooking, and as she puts it, “(trying) to spend my time being as creative and useless as possible.” After finishing high school and moving on to the University of Chicago, Lauren reveals, “I continued to be as impractical as possible by majoring in philosophy and literature...inadvertently aided and abetted in my mission by my older sister, Lizzie, who pursued a Ph.D. in philosophy and cognitive science. This eventually led our parents to resign themselves to the fact that their children would never be lawyers, doctors, or even gainfully employed. Nevertheless, things appear to have worked out for the well-known author.


  • Delirium Trilogy
  • Annabel (December 26, 2012)
  • Delirium (February 3, 2011)
  • Hana (February 28, 2011)
  • Pandemonium (February 28, 2012)
  • Raven (March 5, 2013) - Novella
  • Requiem (March 5, 2013)
  • Alex (November 25, 2014)
  • Delirium Stories: Hana, Annabel, and Raven (March 5, 2013)
  • Standalone Novels:

  • Before I Fall (March 2, 2010)
  • Panic (March 4, 2014)
  • Vanishing Girls (March 10, 2015)

Novels for Adults:

  • Rooms (September 23, 2014)

Novels for Young Readers:

  • Liesl and Po (October 4, 2011)
  • The Spindlers (October 2, 2012)
  • Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head (September 29, 2015)

Lauren Oliver Quotes

I love you. Remember. They cannot take it. Lauren Oliver
I love you. Remember. They cannot take it

Find the things that matter, and hold on to them, and fight for them, and refuse
Find the things that matter, and hold on to them, and fight for them, and refuse to let them go.

I guess that’s just part of loving people: You have to give things up. Sometimes you even have to give them up.

I know that the whole point - the only point - is to
find the things that matter, and hold on to them, and fight for them, and refuse to
let them go.

And now I know why they invented words for love, why they had to: It's the only thing that can come close to describing what I feel in that moment, the baffling mixture of pain and pleasure and fear and joy, all running sharply through me at once.

And you can't love, not fully, unless you are loved in return.

Share Page

Lauren Oliver Wiki

Lauren Oliver At Amazon