Sara Sheridan Biography


Type: Writer

Born: 7 June 1968


Sheridan’s first book, contemporary commercial fiction, "Truth or Dare" entered the Sunday Times top 50 when it was published in 1998. It was nominated for the Saltire Prize and was also listed in the Scottish Libraries Top 100 Books. In the successive two years Sheridan wrote two more novels in the same genre, "Ma Polinski’s Pockets" and "The Pleasure Express". During this period, she also co-wrote two short films, "Fish Supper" starring Lynda Bellingham and "The Window Bed", which was nominated for a Sky Movies Max Award in 2001. She was then commissioned by specialist publisher Barrington Stoke to write a novella for reluctant readers, called "The Blessed and The Damned".

In 2003 she switched genres to historical fiction, funding the move by ghostwriting. She now writes two series of historical novels: one based on the real lives of late Georgian/early Victorian adventurers (The "Secret Mandarin" – 2009, "Secret of the Sands" - 2011) and a series of 1950s cosy crime noir mysteries featuring her fictional ex-secret service heroine, "Mirabelle Bevan" ("Brighton Belle" – 2012, "London Calling" – 2014, "British Bulldog" - 2015 and "Operation Goodwood" - 2016). "The Mirabelle Bevan Mysteries" were optioned by STV in 2015 and are now in development. She has also written a children’s picture book, ("I’m Me" – 2010) which was inspired by her relationship with her niece.

Sheridan occasionally appears as a commenter on TV and radio in the UK.



  • Truth or Dare (1998)
  • Ma Polinski’s Pockets (1999)
  • The Pleasure Express (2001)
  • The Blessed and the Damned (2002)
  • The Secret Mandarin (2009)
  • Secret of the Sands (2010)
  • Brighton Belle (2012)
  • London Calling (2013)
  • England Expects (2014)
  • British Bulldog (2015)
  • Operation Goodwood (2016)
  • On Starlit Seas (2016)
  • Russian Roulette (2017)

Children's Picture Books:

  • I'm Me (2010)

Sara Sheridan Quotes

At the end of the day, that's what a family is - a group of different people who accept each other.

He often came back ‘all thinky’ from work.

Everyone assumes writers spend their time lounging around, writing and occasionally striking a pose whilst having a think.

Crime writers, I've noticed, can be jumpy. They live in a world where there are murderers on the loose and they haven't been caught yet!

I remember calling the council's cemetery department to ask about body decomposition in different soil types. Once they had verified that I was a novelist and not a sicko, they were extremely helpful.

I am completely unflustered by whichever medium people choose to read my words. I'm just delighted they're reading them at all!

Share Page

Sara Sheridan Wiki

Sara Sheridan At Amazon