William Faulkner Biography


Type: Nobel Prize–winning novelist

Born: September 25, 1897

Died: July 6, 1962

One of the most influential writers of the twentieth century, his reputation is based mostly on his novels, novellas, and short stories. He was also a published poet and an occasional screenwriter. The majority of his works are based in his native state of Mississippi. Though his work was published as early as 1919, and largely during the 1920s and 1930s, Faulkner was relatively unknown until receiving the 1949 Nobel Prize in Literature, "for his powerful and artistically unique contribution to the modern American novel."

Faulkner has often been cited as one of the most important writers in the history of American literature. Faulkner was influenced by the european modernism, and employed the Stream of consciousness in several of his novels.


  • Soldiers' Pay 1926
  • Mosquitoes 1927
  • Sartoris 1929
  • The Sound and the Fury 1929
  • As I Lay Dying 1930
  • Sanctuary 1931
  • Light in August 1932
  • Pylon 1935
  • Absalom, Absalom! 1936
  • The Unvanquished 1938
  • The Wild Palms January 19, 1939
  • The Hamlet 1940
  • Go Down, Moses 1942
  • Intruder in the Dust 1948
  • Requiem for a Nun 1951
  • A Fable 1954
  • The Town 1957
  • The Mansion 1959
  • The Reivers 1962

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

William Faulkner Wiki

William Faulkner At Amazon