Ann Brashares Biography

Ann Brashares


Type: Writer of young adult fiction

Born: July 30, 1967


She studied Philosophy at Barnard College, part of Columbia University in New York City. Expecting to continue studying philosophy in graduate school, Ann took a year off after college to work as an editor, hoping to save money for school. Loving her job, she never went to graduate school, and instead, remained in New York City and worked as an editor for many years. Ann made the transition from editor to full-time writer to write her first novel, "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants". After working at Alloy, Ann wrote the first book of her award-winning series, "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants", which became an international bestseller. Ann continued to write three more books in the series, "The Second Summer of the Sisterhood", "Girls in Pants", and "Forever in Blue". The series inspired two major motion pictures, the first of which was released in 2005. Following the "Sisterhood series", Ann went on to write a few adult novels, including "The Last Summer of You and Me" which came out in 2007. Ann then wrote a book as a companion novel to the "Sisterhood series" called "Three Willows", which follows new characters as they explore the bonds of sisterhood and friendship. Ann currently lives in New York city with her husband and her four beautiful children. Her latest novel, "The Here And Now", is an epic romantic thriller. Bibliography: Nonfiction: 2001 — Linus Torvalds, Software Rebel 2001 — Steve Jobs Thinks Different Fiction: 2001 — Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2003 — The Second Summer of the Sisterhood 2005 — Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood 2007 — Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood 2007 — The Last Summer (of You and Me) 2009 — 3 Willows: The Sisterhood Grows 2010 — My Name Is Memory 2011 — Sisterhood Everlasting 2014 — The Here and Now

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Ann Brashares Wiki

Ann Brashares At Amazon