Edgar Allan Poe Biography

Edgar Allan Poe


Type: Writer

Born: January 19, 1809 Boston, Massachusetts, Unit

Died: October 7, 1849, Baltimore, Maryland, Unit

He became a literary sensation in 1845 with the publication of the poem "The Raven". It is considered a great American literary work and one of the best of Poe's career. In the work, Poe explored some of his common themes—death and loss. An unknown narrator laments the demise of his great love Lenore. That same year, he found himself under attack for his stinging criticisms of his fellow poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Poe claimed that Longfellow, a widely popular literary figure, was a plagiarist, and this written assault on Longfellow created a bit of backlash for Poe.

Continuing work in different forms, Poe examined his own methodology and writing in general in several essays, including "The Philosophy of Composition", "The Poetic Principle" and "The Rationale of Verse". He also produced another thrilling tale, "The Cask of Amontillado", and poems such as "Ulalume" and "The Bells." While he never had financial success in his lifetime, Poe has become one of America's most enduring writers. His works are as compelling today as there were more than a century ago. A bright, imaginative thinker, Poe crafted stories and poems that still shock, surprise and move modern readers.

Poe and his works influenced literature in the United States and around the world, as well as in specialized fields, such as cosmology and cryptography. Poe and his work appear throughout popular culture in literature, music, films, and television. A number of his homes are dedicated museums today. The Mystery Writers of America present an annual award known as the Edgar Award for distinguished work in the mystery genre.


  • Tamerlane and Other Poems (1827)
  • Al Aaraaf, Tamerlane, and Minor Poems (1829)
  • Poems (1831)
  • The Raven and Other Poems (1845)
  • Eureka: A Prose Poem (1848)


  • Berenice (1835)
  • Ligeia (1838)
  • The Fall of the House of Usher (1839)
  • Tales of the Grotesque and Arabesque (1939)
  • Murders in the Rue Morgue (1841)
  • The Black Cat (1843)
  • The Tell-Tale Heart (1843)
  • The Purloined Letter (1845)
  • The Cask of Amontillado (1846)
  • The Oval Portrait (1850)
  • The Narrative of Arthut Gordon Pym of Nantucket (1850)

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Edgar Allan Poe Wiki

Edgar Allan Poe At Amazon