Jane Austen Biography


Type: English novelist

Born: December 16, 1775, Steventon, United Kingdom

Died: July 18, 1817, Winchester, United Kingdom

Hertimeless works – numbering just six completed novels – have been turned into a plethora of motion pictures, television shows and modern adaptations at a regular pace in addition to being translated into multiple languages that help her stories surpass cultural boundaries. These six works have gone on to become the model formula for the romance stories of today. Her novels, including “Pride and Prejudice” and “Sense and Sensibility”, are considered literary classics, bridging the gap between romance and realism. Jane Austen remains as popular as ever and is revered as much as any literary figure in the history of the English language.

List of works:


  • Sense and Sensibility (1811)
  • Pride and Prejudice (1813)
  • Mansfield Park (1814)
  • Emma (1815)
  • Northanger Abbey (1818, posthumous)
  • Persuasion (1818, posthumous)

    Short fiction:

  • Lady Susan (1794, 1805)
  • Unfinished fiction:

  • The Watsons (1804)
  • Sanditon (1817)

    Other works:

  • Sir Charles Grandison (adapted play) (1793, 1800)[134]
  • Plan of a Novel (1815)
  • Poems (1796-1817)
  • Prayers (1796-1817)
  • Letters (1796-1817)

Share Page

Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day

Jane Austen Wiki

Jane Austen At Amazon