Jasper Fforde Biography


Type: Novelist

Born: 11 January 1961


Fforde's books are noted for their profusion of literary allusions and wordplay, tightly scripted plots, and playfulness with the conventions of traditional genres. His works usually contain elements of metafiction, parody, and fantasy.


Thursday Next:

  • The Eyre Affair (2001)
  • Lost in a Good Book (2002)
  • The Well of Lost Plots (2003)
  • Something Rotten (2004)
  • First Among Sequels (2007)
  • One of Our Thursdays is Missing (2011)
  • The Woman Who Died a Lot (2012)

Nursery Crime Division:

  • The Big Over Easy (2005)
  • The Fourth Bear (2006)

Shades of Grey:

  • Shades of Grey (Title on the cover), Shades of Grey 1: The Road to High Saffron (2009)
  • Shades of Grey prequel: 7 Things To Do Before You Die in Talgarth (2018)
  • The Dragonslayer:

    • The Last Dragonslayer (2010)
    • The Song of the Quarkbeast (2011)
    • The Last Dragonslayer III: The Eye of Zoltar (2014)
    • The Last Dragonslayer IV: Humans V. Trolls (2017)

    Standalone Novels:

    • Early Riser (2017)

Jasper Fforde Quotes

Whereas story is processed in the mind in a straightforward manner, poetry bypasses rational thought and goes straight to the limbic system and lights it up like a brushfire. It's the crack cocaine of the literary world.

If the real world were a book, it would never find a publisher. Overlong, detailed to the point of distraction-and ultimately, without a major resolution.

I didn't set out to discover a truth. I was actually sent to the Outer Fringes to conduct a chair census and learn some humility. But the truth inevitably found me, as important truths often do, like a lost thought in need of a mind.

Bowden Cable is the sort of honest and dependable operative that is the backbone of SpecOps. They never win commendations or medals
and the public has no knowledge of them at all. They are all worth ten of people like me.

Another one of your quippy japes?

…although her mouth uttered fond words, her eyes spoke only venom.

Share Page

Jasper Fforde Wiki

Jasper Fforde At Amazon